Dear Cancer

Dear cancer,

I hate you.  I hate the way you sneak into our lives like a cowardly thief.  You play a sick, twisted version of hide-n-seek.  “I’m heeeere, see if you can find me.  All of me,” you taunt.

You try to play a game of chicken with us, like we’re a couple of Washington politicians trying to one-up each other.  The hardest part about playing chicken is knowing when to flinch, and we don’t flinch.

Who the hell do you think you are?

You are like a stubborn cockroach.  We nuke you with radiation, flood you with lethal injections, cut you out, and still you persist.  I wish you WERE a cockroach, so I could hear the satisfying “crunch-squish” under my heel and see your guts splatter out as I stomp you.

You are like a scorned jealous lover, trying to dominate our lives.  I hate your egotistical desire to be the center of attention. Get out!  Leave, depart, vamoose, amscray! Go away, we’re done with you!

You are incredibly stupid.  In your fanatical desire for world domination, you’ve messed with 28 million people.  Here’s a newsflash for you, hotshot.  Each one of those 28 million people has at least 1 person helping them kick your ass.  And you’ve successfully managed to piss off at least a couple million more.  We are uniting every day into an army that will defeat you.

Dear cancer,

I am a better person because of you.  I love the people you bring into my life, people I otherwise would have never met.  These are people I have laughed with, cried for, hugged and prayed over.  They have become an extended family.

I doubt I would have begun cycling, exercising and taking better care of myself, if you hadn’t picked a fight with my Dad.  Yellow likely would not have become one of my favorite colors.

 I have devoted my remaining days on Earth, however many the Lord has planned for me, into defeating you.  This is my passion, my cause.  Without you touching my family, I don’t think I would have found this burning desire.

My battles with you have further strengthened my faith in my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ, and throughout Dad’s battle with you, I saw his faith strengthened.

I feel like I learned a lifetime of lessons from my Dad during the 3 years he fought you, and I also realized that I still have much to learn.

Thank you, cancer.  Because of you, I am a better person.

Now go to hell.

2 thoughts on “Dear Cancer

Leave a Reply

